SILVERSHIELD™ 技术

比其他含银抗菌剂快 8 倍

More

问题

世界充满细菌等微生物。人类或动物接触的几乎所有的东西——厨房柜台、浴室固定装置、门把手、地板或医疗设备——肯定带有细菌,如大肠杆菌和金黄色酿脓葡萄球菌,如果表面没有经常清理和消毒,这些细菌会造成严重的疾病。

以医院的病床为例。根据已建立的标准,为了人类安全,经常接触的表面上的微生物菌落,其潜在病原体不得超过 100 菌落形成单位 (CFU)/100cm2,微生物菌落总计数不得超过 250 CFU/100cm2。美军研究人员发现,必须每两小时进行一次严格消毒,才能使重症监护室 (ICU) 病床栏杆上的致病细菌低于这些水平,致病细菌包括耐甲氧西林金黄色葡萄球菌 (MRSA) 和抗万古霉素肠道球菌 (VRE) 这两种耐抗生素菌株。研究人员的主要结论:医院批准的消毒剂可以快速将细菌计数降到安全水平,但细菌会很快恢复到 250 CFU/100cm2 以上,每个病床栏杆必须每 120 分钟重新消毒一次,以维护持续安全的保护。

没有人有时间和人员每两小时清洁一次医院、购物中心、家庭、浴室或任何其他地方的所有表面。另外,消毒剂含有漂白剂和过氧化氢等刺激性的化学物质,这些化学物质被吞咽后对人体有害,会伤害裸露皮肤,损坏它们所处理的物体,或使这些物体褪色。

解决方案:抗菌技术的突破

银长期以来被用作抗菌剂,至少是从希波克拉底在公元前 400 年首次描述银的抗菌属性开始,但直到 1972 年科学家才理解银的作用机制。少量的银通过组织细菌将营养转化为能量来破坏细菌的新陈代谢,这会抑制细菌的生存、繁殖和集群。

Microban 的创新 SilverShield 将银的经过证明的抗菌效果带入到聚合物中,是一个巨大的进步。由于其独特的几何结构和高效的释放机制,SilverShield FP 系列抗菌剂的反应速度比其他含银抗菌剂快 8 倍,同时保持聚合物的耐用性和完整性。

测试表明,在室温下,SilverShield 在 2 小时内可减少 99% 的沙门氏菌、大肠杆菌、MRSA 和 VRE,而竞争对手的产品达到这一效果需要 24 小时。通常,物体在体温 (37°C) 环境下经过 24 小时以上的测试,才能宣称具有抗菌效果,而测试表明,SilverShield 在室温 (25°C) 环境下,2 小时内就可以将细菌接种量降到安全水平。这些更加严格的标准更加接近真实世界的使用,在真实世界里,物体的温度更有可能是室温温度,而不是体温温度。

SilverShield 的目的不是替代消毒剂,而是在抗菌大战中对消毒剂进行补充。银持续存在于物体表面上,并且全天 24 小时释放银。这就是说,使用 SilverShield 的聚合物提供针对细菌的持续保护,从而帮助延长消毒剂化学物品的有效时间至远远超过 120 分钟,而 120 分钟时间是仅使用抗菌剂后细菌重新获得立足之地的时间。

Microban SilverShield 补充并帮助延长医疗环境、家庭和公共空间使用的标准化学品消毒惯例的效果。另外,由于在制造过程中被嵌入整个聚合物中,即使物体被割开或划伤,SilverShield 仍旧有效。

SilverShield 只有在接触到细菌可以繁殖的潮湿环境后才会有效。只有这时,SilverShield 才会释放微量的银,但这些微量的银足以抑制细菌的新陈代谢和阻止细菌繁殖。其准确性使之成为对有害微生物的持续战斗中的一个武器。

SilverShield 在美国环保局 (EPA) 进行了注册,可以安全地在各种应用中使用(包括与食物接触的应用)。其微粒小而且外形独特,比其他含银产品更快地释放银离子。尽管 SilverShield 的微粒小,但这些微粒还是太大而不能被视为纳米技术,这会减轻一些消费者的担忧。
SilverShield 的智能、独特的几何结构和 EPA 注册意味着它获得政府的批准,在人或食物可能触摸或接触的物体中使用是安全的。这些品质使含有 SilverShield 的聚合物拥有巨大的市场优势。

如何实现 SilverShield™

Microban 分别与多个聚合物制造商合作,尽可能简单而无缝地实现 SilverShield 的集成,同时不破坏现有的制造过程。我们的工程师为每一个产品开发和测试 SilverShield 的定制配方。这些定制配方使用制造商自己的聚合物进行测试,来测试抗菌效果,并确保 SilverShield 不会降低或减弱产品的任何部分的美学或功能。通过以母体混合物的形式向制造商提供 SilverShield,并对制造人员进行 SilverShield 的正确用法培训,Microban 使把 SilverShield 插入到聚合物中变得非常容易。我们的定期和不间断测试确保 SilverShield 长时间有效,而我们的市场营销服务帮助制造商利用 Microban 的名声获得市场优势。

研究表明,Microban 的品牌和技术可以将购买意向提高 15%,或允许合作伙伴将平均价格提高 11%。

SilverShield™ Technology

8x faster than other silver antimicrobials

More

The Problem

The world is filled with microorganisms including bacteria. Practically everything humans or animals touch – kitchen counters, bathroom fixtures, doorknobs, floors or medical equipment – is sure to have bacteria like Escherchia coli and Staphylococcus aureus, which can cause severe illness if surfaces aren’t cleaned and disinfected regularly.

Take hospital beds, for example. Established criteria say that to be safe for humans, microbial flora on high-touch surfaces must not exceed 100 colony-forming units (CFU)/100cm2 potential pathogens and 250 CFU/100cm2 total microbial colony counts. U.S. Army researchers found that harsh disinfectants must be used every two hours to keep ICU bed rails below those levels of disease-causing bacteria, including MRSA and VRE, two antibiotic-resistant strains of bacteria. The researchers’ primary conclusion: Hospital-approved disinfectants can quickly reduce bacteria counts to safe levels, but the bacteria rebound quickly above 250 CFU/100cm2, and each bed rail must be re-disinfected every 120 minutes to maintain continuous, safe protection.

No one has the time or personnel to clean every surface in a hospital, shopping center, home, bathroom – or anywhere else – every two hours. Plus, disinfectants contain harsh chemicals, including bleach and peroxide, which may be harmful if swallowed, injure bare skin, and damage or discolor the objects they’re trying to treat.

The Solution: A Breakthrough in Antimicrobial Technology

Silver has long been used as an antimicrobial agent, at least since Hippocrates first described silver’s antimicrobial properties in 400 B.C., but it wasn’t until 1972 that scientists understood how silver works. Small amounts of silver disrupt bacteria’s metabolism by preventing it from converting nutrients into energy, which inhibits bacteria survival, reproduction and colonization.

Microban’s innovative SilverShield takes silver’s proven antimicrobial effectiveness in polymers a huge step forward. Because of its unique geometry and highly efficient release mechanism, SilverShield FP Series reacts 8 times faster than other silver antimicrobials while maintaining polymer durability and integrity.

Testing shows that SilverShield provides 99% reduction of Salmonella enterica, E. coli, MRSA and VRE in 2 hours at room temperature, vs. up to 24 hours for competitors’ products. Typically, objects can claim antimicrobial effectiveness with tests run at body temperature (37°C) over a 24-hour period, whereas SilverShield has been shown to reduce bacterial loads below safe levels within 2 hours at room temperature (25°C). These more rigorous criteria more closely approximate real-world use, where objects are far more likely to be at room temperature than body temperature.

SilverShield is not designed to replace a disinfectant, but rather complement the disinfectant in the fight against bacteria. Silver is constantly presented on the surface and ready to be released 24/7. This means that polymers with SilverShield offer continuous protection against bacteria, thereby helping to extend the effectiveness of disinfectant chemicals well beyond the 120 minutes before bacteria regain their foothold with disinfectants alone.

Microban SilverShield both complements and helps to extend the effectiveness of standard chemical disinfecting routines used in medical settings, homes and public spaces. Also, because it’s embedded throughout polymers during the manufacturing process, SilverShield remains effective even if an object is nicked or scratched.

SilverShield is inert until it comes into contact with a damp environment in which bacteria can proliferate. Only then will it release minute amounts of silver – just enough to inhibit the bacteria’s metabolism and prevent reproduction. Its accuracy makes it a weapon in the ongoing battle against harmful microbes.

It is registered with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as safe to use in a variety of applications including those that come in contact with food. Its small, uniquely shaped particles are designed to release silver ions faster than other silver-based products. Even though the particles are small, they are still too large to be considered a nanotechnology, which may alleviate the concerns of some consumers.

SilverShield’s intelligence, unique geometry and EPA registration mean it’s government approved as safe to use in objects that people or food can touch or can come in contact with. These qualities offer significant market advantages for SilverShield containing polymers.

How SilverShield® Is Implemented

Microban works individually with polymer manufacturers to make SilverShield integration as simple and seamless as possible without disruption to existing manufacturing processes. Our engineers develop and test customized formulations of SilverShield for each individual product. These custom formulations are tested with manufacturers’ own polymers both for antimicrobial effectiveness and to ensure that SilverShield will not degrade or decrease the aesthetics or function of any part of the product. By providing SilverShield to manufacturers in masterbatches and training manufacturing staff on its proper use, Microban makes it very easy to properly insert SilverShield in polymers. Our regular and ongoing testing ensures that SilverShield continues to work over time, and our marketing services help manufacturers leverage the Microban name for market advantage.

Research has demonstrated that the Microban brand and technology can increase purchase intent by 15% or allow partners to charge an average of 11% more.